Behavioral Research & Therapy Clinics


July 7, 2016

Marsha Linehan’s 2016 Allen L. Edwards Lecture Available Online. Watch Now!

Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT): Where We Were, Where We Are and Where Are We Going Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT) is a trans-diagnostic modular behavioral intervention that integrates principles of behavioral science with those of Zen mindfulness practice to provide a synthesis of change and acceptance. UW Professor Marsha Linehan discusses how this behavioral intervention is…

June 22, 2016

New Article on Linehan Suicide Safety Net in Journal of Clinical Psychology

Evaluating a Multimedia Tool for Suicide Risk Assessment and Management: The Linehan Suicide Safety Net Harned, M. S., Lungu, A., Wilks, C. R. and Linehan, M. M. (2016), Evaluating a Multimedia Tool for Suicide Risk Assessment and Management: The Linehan Suicide Safety Net. J. Clin. Psychol.. doi: 10.1002/jclp.22331 The present study examined the usability and effectiveness…

June 17, 2016

Marsha Linehan to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award from ABCT

Congratulations to Marsha Linehan for receiving the Career/Lifetime Achievement Award from the Association for Behavioral & Cognitive Therapies (ABCT). This is the highest award given by ABCT and honors those who have made significant contributions over a number of years to cognitive and/or behavior therapy. She will be recognized during the Awards Ceremony on Friday night, October…

March 24, 2016

Former Graduate Student Publishes New DBT Protocol for Suicide

Congratulations to Dr. Erin Ward-Ciesielski, whose dissertation protocol was published in BMC Psychology this week. It details the protocol for an intervention that gives non-treatment-engaged suicidal adults one session of DBT skills training. Dr. Ward-Ciesielski is currently at Hofstra University as an Assistant Professor. You can find the article here.

February 25, 2016

New Article from Dr. Marsha Linehan

As part of the celebration of the Association for Behavioral and Cognitive Therapy (ABCT)’s 50th anniversary, Dr. Linehan shares her thoughts on the procession of behavioral therapy and what researchers need to pursue next. Click here to read the article in the journal Cognitive and Behavioral Practice. 

November 19, 2015

Melanie Harned Honored at Annual DBT Conference

Congratulations to our Research Director Melanie Harned for receiving the Research Award from the International Society for the Improvement and Teaching of Dialectical Behavior Therapy (ISITDBT)! The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of Dialectical Behavior Therapy by way of research and treatment development. She is rewarded for her work in developing the DBT Prolonged Exposure protocol for…

November 17, 2015

Marsha Linehan Honored at Silver Hill Hospital Gala

Congratulations to Marsha for being given the President’s Award at Silver Hill Hospital’s annual gala in New York City! The event raised over $1 million dollars to assist those in need of residential treatment programs at the hospital. You can read more about the event here.

October 9, 2015

Marsha Linehan Interviewed by NAMI

Ahead of being honored with their Scientific Research Award, the National Alliance on Mental Illness interviewed Marsha about her entry into research and the development of DBT. You can read the interview here.

October 6, 2015

Marsha Linehan Featured In The Daily

Marsha Linehan was interviewed by The Daily, the University of Washington’s campus newspaper, about receiving NAMI’s 2015 Scientific Research Award. The article also discusses the BRTC’s focus on suicide research. You can read the article here. 

September 23, 2015

Former BRTC Graduate Student Now Assistant Professor

Congratulations to Erin Ward-Ciesielski, Ph.D.for her recent appointment as Assistant Professor at Hofstra University! As a graduate student under Dr. Linehan, Erin completed her clinical training at the University of Washington from 2007-2014. You can see the announcement and learn more about the program here. 

Next page