The Bizet Catalogue now online

Check out the Bizet Cat­a­logue!

Com­piled by Hugh Mac­don­ald and man­aged by the Human­i­ties Dig­i­tal Work­shop at Wash­ing­ton Uni­ver­sity, St Louis.

This is pri­mar­ily a list of Bizet’s works, pro­vid­ing essen­tial infor­ma­tion about the his­tory and con­tent of each one. It gives infor­ma­tion on man­u­script and printed sources, on doc­u­men­tary mate­ri­als relat­ing to the com­po­si­tion, per­for­mance and pub­li­ca­tion of each work, and is intended to pro­vide a full his­tor­i­cal doc­u­men­ta­tion of Bizet’s work as com­poser and transcriber.”

New Online Catalog of Carl Nielsen’s Works

The Carl Nielsen Works Cat­a­logue; an online the­matic cat­a­log of Nielsen’s works com­plete with details of orig­i­nal man­u­script sources, per­for­mance his­tory, and pri­mary texts; has just been pub­lished

The cat­a­log is the result of a multi-year project by the Dan­ish Cen­tre for Music Pub­li­ca­tion which is based at the Royal Library in Copen­hagen. The library holds the major­ity of Nielsen’s sur­viv­ing manuscripts.

A Mozart Mystery: Sonata Manuscript Surfaces in Budapest

For Bal­azs Mikusi, a young Hun­gar­ian musi­col­o­gist, it was the find of a life­time. Leaf­ing through fold­ers of uniden­ti­fied man­u­scripts at the National Szechenyi Library in Budapest recently, he came across four pages of what looked to him like Mozart’s hand­writ­ing. As he read through the music, he told Agence France-Presse, he real­ized that he had stum­bled onto Mozart’s own score of the Piano Sonata in A, K.331 – one of the best-known Mozart sonatas because of its “Rondo alla Turca” finale.”

For the full story, please see the New York Times.

Sign the Henle Guest Book!

Clau­dio Arrau, Yehudi Menuhin, Arthur Rubin­stein — the founder of our pub­lish­ing house Dr. Gün­ter Henle and his wife Anne Liese often invited the most dis­tin­guished musi­cians of the time to their home.

From 1942 to 1979 they kept a guest book. We have now dig­i­tal­ized and tran­scribed it. In addi­tion we have also com­piled sev­eral indexes, as well as biogra­phies of the artists who were their guests.

Delve into this trea­sure trove with its insights into peo­ple, dates and rela­tion­ships. You can view it in its entirety and free-of-charge online.
» to the guest book

How Streaming Media Could Threaten the Mission of Libraries

Dig­i­tal music has made it eas­ier to buy and share record­ings. But try telling that to librarians.

In March 2011, the Uni­ver­sity of Washington’s library tried to get a copy of a new record­ing of the Los Ange­les Phil­har­monic play­ing a piece by Gus­tavo Dudamel, a pop­u­lar com­poser, that the library could lend to stu­dents. But the record­ing was avail­able only as a dig­i­tal down­load, and Ama­zon and iTunes for­bid rent­ing out dig­i­tal files.”

For the full story, please see The Chron­i­cle of Higher Edu­ca­tion.