Adobe Contribute CS3 Doesn’t prompt to replace files.

In fact, Contribute is automatically generating filenames ending in _000 or _001 instead of opening a prompt to replace them when you try to make a link or publish them from your computer.

The problem is that your role isn’t being allowed access to delete files.

But Tony, does replace equal delete in this strange land of Seattle in Washington?

NO! I mean YES! It does, everywhere. Because in order to replace something you sort of have to delete it first, then upload what you really want to be there. Windows file serving permissions work in a similar way.

  1. Open Adobe Contribute CS3, as the Site Administrator.
  2. Click the ‘Edit’ drop down menu, then ‘Administer Websites’, then click the site you want to edit.
  3. Click the role you want to fix, probably ‘Publisher’.
  4. Click ‘Edit Role Settings’ on the right.
  5. Click ‘Folder/File Access’ on the left.
  6. Under ‘File Deletion’ Check ‘Allow users to delete files they have the permission to edit’.
  7. Click ‘Ok’, then ‘Close’.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.