UWSOM Foundations Curriculum

Foundations Directory

Curriculum

Curriculum Leadership

Title Name Email
Associate Dean for Curriculum
Foundation Dean, Seattle, WA
Michael Ryan, MD mjryan@uw.edu
Foundation Dean, Spokane, WA William ‘Bill’ Sayres Jr., MD sayrew@uw.edu
Foundation Dean, Wyoming Timothy Robinson, PhD tjrobin@uwyo.edu
Foundation Dean, Alaska Kathy Young, MD kathyc8@uw.edu
Foundation Dean, Montana Martin Teintze, PhD mteintze@montana.edu
Foundation Dean, Idaho Jeff Seegmiller, EdD jeffreys@uidaho.edu
Associate Director, Alaska Megan Ritter, MD maritter2@alaska.edu
Assistant Director, Wyoming

Marivern Easton

John Willford

measton3@uwyo.edu

Willford@uwyo.edu

Associate Program Director, Montana Mike Spinelli, MD mspin@uw.edu
Director of Curriculum Kellie Engle kaengle@uw.edu
Director, Program Development & Ops Foundation, Spokane, WA Carol Weigand carolw7@uw.edu
Associate Director of Curriculum, Idaho Peter Fuerst, PhD fuerst@uidaho.edu
Assistant Dean for Basic Science Edith Wang, PhD ehwang@uw.edu

Regional Site Administration

The staff listed below are the points of contact for their foundation site.

FCM Programs Ops Specialist, Spokane, WA Erin Van Antwerp, MHA etwerp@uw.edu
Programs Ops Specialist, Spokane, WA Carrie Walker, MPA carriew4@uw.edu
FCM Program Coordinator, Spokane, WA Robin Ferry ferryr@uw.edu
Program Coordinator, Spokane, WA Deborah Greene dg46@uw.edu
Assistant Director, Curriculum, Seattle, WA Jaime Fitch, MAEd jgrocock@uw.edu
Block Administrator, Seattle, WA Julien Goulet jg224@uw.edu
Block Administrator, Seattle, WA Meredith Pothoven mgpotho@uw.edu
Block/Thread Administrator, Seattle, WA Austin Kiyomiya kiyomiya@uw.edu
Education Specialist, Seattle, WA Rachel Liao rachelx@uw.edu
PCP/NCE Program Coordinator, Seattle, WA Drue Johnson druejohn@uw.edu; pcprac@uw.edu; somnce@uw.edu
WWAMI Business Manager, Wyoming Natalia Tugwell-Brown ntugwell@uwyo.edu
Office Associate, Wyoming Tori Johnson tjohns99@uwyo.edu
Business Manager, Alaska Maryann Kniffen mikniffen@alaska.edu
Program Coordinator, Alaska Nancy Hall njhall@uaa.alaska.edu
WWAMI Program Manager, Montana Kayla Ouert kayla.ouert@montana.edu
Program Manager, Idaho Marlane Martonick marlanem@uidaho.edu
Program Specialist, Idaho Whitney Vincent wvincent@uidaho.edu

Block 1: Molecular & Cellular Basis of Disease

Block Directors Brent Wisse, MD
Tim Chestnut, MD
Peter Fuerst, PhD
bewisse@uw.edu
tcmd1955@uw.edu
fuerst@uidaho.edu
Block Administrator Austin Kiyomiya kiyomiya@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Max Kullberg, PhD
Jocelyn Krebs, PhD
mpkullberg@alaska.edu
jekrebs@mac.com
Idaho Site Lead Peter Fuerst, PhD fuerst@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Martin Teintze, PhD mteintze@montana.edu
Seattle Site Lead Brent Wisse, MD bewisse@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Tim Chestnut, MD tcmd1955@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Pam Langer, PhD langer@uwyo.edu

Block 2: Invaders and Defenders

Block Directors Kristen Hayward, MD, MS
Meena Ramchandani, MD, MPH
kristen.hayward@seattlechildrens.org
meenasr@uw.edu
Block Administrator TBD somid@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Cindy Knall, PhD cmknall@alaska.edu 
Idaho Site Lead Scott Greishaber, PhD
Diana Mitchell, PhD
scottg@uidaho.edu
dmitchell@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Nicole Meissner, PhD nicolem@montana.edu
Seattle Site Lead Kristen Hayward, MD, MS
Meena Ramchandani, MD, MPH
kristen.hayward@seattlechildrens.org
meenasr@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Dave Fregeau, MD
Kristi Rice, MDCicely White, MD
davef509@uw.edu 
ricek4@uw.eduwhitec8@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead John Willford, PhD willford@uwyo.edu

Block 3: Circulatory Systems

Block Director Andy Luks, MD aluks@uw.edu
Block Administrator Meredith Pothoven mgpotho@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Carol Paredes, MD
Ian van Tets, PhD
vparedes@alaska.edu
igvantets@uaa.alaska.edu
Idaho Site Lead David Pfeiffer, PhD dpfeiffer@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Gerry Groggel, MD  gcgroggel@gmail.com
Seattle Site Lead Andy Luks, MD
Ashley Jefferson, MD, FRCP
Fendley Stewart, MD, FACC
Shoba Stack, MD, PhD
aluks@uw.edu
jashleyj@uw.edu
fstewart@uw.edu
shobhaws@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead

Tim Chestnut, MD

Allison Lambert, MD

John Musa, MD

tcmd1955@uw.edu

aalamb@uw.edu

jlm64@uw.edu

Wyoming Site Lead Danielle Bruns, PhD dbruns1@uwyo.edu

Block 5: Energetics & Homeostasis

Block Directors Bruce Silverstein, MD, FACP, AGAF
Tracy Tylee, MD
brucesil@uw.edu
ttylee@uw.edu
Block Administrator Julien Goulet someh@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Carol Paredes,MD vparedes@alaska.edu
Idaho Site Lead Onesmo Balemba, MVM, PhD obalemba@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Kathy Jutila, MD kjutila@hotmail.com
Seattle Site Lead Bruce Silverstein, MD, FACP, AGAF
Tracy Tylee, MD
brucesil@uw.edu
ttylee@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Mike Stephens, MD mjs57@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Brenda Alexander, PhD balex@uwyo.edu

Block 6: Musculoskeletal

Block Director Hank Pelto, MD
Brian Krabak, MD, MBA, FACSM
pelto@uw.edu
bkrabak@uw.edu
Block Administrator Meredith Pothoven mgpotho@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Brad Cruz, MD cruzb2@uw.edu
Idaho Site Lead David Pfeiffer, PhD
Belinda Sanchez, MD
dpfeiffer@uidaho.edu
belindas@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Cassie Cusick, PhD
Erik Adams, MD
ccusick@montana.edu
erik.adams@montana.edu
Seattle Site Lead Hank Pelto, MD
Brian Krabak, MD, MBA, FACSM
pelto@uw.edu
bkrabak@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Zach Gallaher, PhD
Paula Silha, MD
zgalla@uw.edu
silhap@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Gretchen Sewczak-Claude, PT, DPT gsewczak@uwyo.edu

Block 7: Blood & Cancer

Block Director William ‘Bill’ Harris, MD
Sioban Keel, MD
wph3@uw.edu
sioban@uw.edu
Block Administrator Julien Goulet sombc@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Megan Ritter, M
Holly Martinson, PhD
maritter@uw.edu
hamartinson@alaska.edu
Idaho Site Lead Angela Scharnhorst, MD
George Hodges, MD
ascharn@uidaho.edu
ghodges@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Nicole Meissner, PhD nicolem@Montana.edu
Seattle Site Lead William ‘Bill’ Harris, MD
Sioban Keel, MD
wph3@uw.edu
sioban@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Kristi Rice, MD ricek4@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Emily Schmitt, PhD eschmit4@uwyo.edu

Block 8: Mind, Brain, & Behavior

Block Director Leo Wang, MD, PhD
Kurt Weaver, PhD
leowang@uw.edu
weaverk@uw.edu
Block Administrator Meredith Pothoven mgpotho@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Tim Hinterberger, PhD tjhinterberger@alaska.edu 
Idaho Site Lead Lane Brown, PhD
Craig McGowan, PhD
brownla@vetmed.wsu.edu
cpmcgowan@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Cassie Cusick, PhD
Joshua Knappenberger, MD
ccusick@montana.edu
jknappenberger@bozemanhealth.org
Seattle Site Lead Leo Wang, MD, PhD
Kurt Weaver, PhD
leowang@uw.edu
weaverk@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Paula Silha, MD
Kiran Gill, MD
Kevin Measor, PhD
silhap@uw.edu
gillk4@uw.edu
measor@gonzaga.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Karen Mruk, MD kmruk@uwyo.edu

Block 9: Lifecycle

Block Director Robert Steiner, PhD
Alyssa Stephenson-Famy, MD
steiner@uw.edu
alyssabs@uw.edu
Block Administrator Erin Gunsul ering12@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Sarah Murphy, MD murphs1@uw.edu
Idaho Site Lead Jon Mallatt, PhD
Donna Holmes Parks, PhD
mallatt@wsu.edu
djholmes@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Laura Goodell, MD lmgoodell@gmail.com
Seattle Site Lead Robert Steiner, PhD
Alyssa Stephenson-Famy, MD
steiner@uw.edu
alyssabs@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Molly Gilbert, MD
Bill Sayres, MD
molly123@uw.edu
sayrew@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Esther Gilman-Kehrer, DNP, MS, FNP, CNM egilmank@uwyo.edu

Research Methods

Course Director Bryan Kestenbaum, MD, MS
Matthew Thompson, MD, MPH
brk@uw.edu
mjt@uw.edu
Course Administrator Rachel Liao remethod@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Cindy Knall, PhD
Holly Martinson, PhD
cmknall@alaska.edu
hamartinson@alaska.edu
Idaho Site Lead Russell Baker, PhD, DAT, AT, CMP, PRT-c® russellb@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Mike Spinelli, MD, FACP mspin@uw.edu
Seattle Site Lead Bryan Kestenbaum, MD, MS
Matthew Thompson, MD, MPH
brk@uw.edu
mjt@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Bill Sayres, MD
Allison Lambert, MD
sayrew@uw.edu
aalamb@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Timothy Robinson, PhD, MS
Brant Schumaker, DVM, MPVM, PhD
tjrobin@uwyo.edu
theschu2@uw.edu

Foundations Capstone, Consolidation, and Transition to Clerkships

Course Director Meghan Kiefer, MD meghanm@uw.edu
Course Administrator Austin Kiyomiya kiyomiya@uw.edu

Ecology of Health & Medicine

Course Director TBD
Course Administrator Jaime Fitch, MAEd jgrocock@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Sarah Murphy, MD samurphy@alaska.edu
Idaho Site Lead Belinda Sanchez, PhD belindas@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Mike Spinelli, MD mspin@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Julia Daher, MD jdaher@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Marivern Easton measton3@uwyo.edu

Threads

Human Form and Function

Human Form and Function Directors Cassie Cusick, PhD
Catrin Pittack, PhD
Kurt Weaver, PhD
ccusick@montana.edu
catp@uw.edu
weaverk@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Brad Cruz, MD cruzb2@uw.edu
Idaho Site Lead David Pfeiffer, PhD dpfeiffer@uidaho.edu 
Montana Site Lead Cassie Cusick, PhD ccusick@montana.edu 
Seattle Site Lead Catrin Pittack, PhD
Kurt Weaver, PhD
catp@uw.edu
weaverk@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Zach Gallaher, PhD zgalla@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Alison Doherty, PhD adoherty@uwyo.edu 
Thread Administrator Austin Kiyomiya kiyomiya@uw.edu

Pathology-Histology

Pathology-Histology Director Mara Rendi, MD, PhD mararend@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Megan Ritter, MD
Tim Hinterberger, PhD
maritter@uw.edu
tjhinterberger@alaska.edu
Idaho Site Lead Onesmo Balemba, MVM, PhD
George Hodges, MD
Jon Mallatt, PhD
obalemba@uidaho.edu
ghodges@uidaho.edu
mallatt@wsu.edu
Montana Site Lead Nicole Meissner, PhD  nicolem@Montana.edu
Seattle Site Lead Mara Rendi, MD, PhD mararend@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Bill Sayres, MD sayrew@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Alison Doherty, PhD adoherty@uwyo.edu
Thread Administrator Austin Kiyomiya kiyomiya@uw.edu

Pharmacology

Pharmacology Director Edith Wang, PhD
Chris Hague, PhD
ehwang@uw.edu
chague@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Max Kullberg, PhD mpkullberg@alaska.edu 
Idaho Site Lead Ben Richardson, PhD benrichardson@vetmed.wsu.edu
Montana Site Lead Martin Teintze, PhD mteintze@montana.edu
Seattle Site Lead Edith Wang, PhD
Chris Hague, PhD
ehwang@uw.edu
chague@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Jason Brouillard, PharmD jeb39@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Sree Nair, PhD sreejay@uw.edu
Thread Administrator Austin Kiyomiya kiyomiya@uw.edu

Foundations of Clinical Medicine

Foundations of Clinical Medicine

FCM Directors Karen McDonough, MD kmcdonou@uw.edu
Director of Operations Julie Calcavecchia, MEd jsmillan@uw.edu

Immersion

Immersion Directors Karen McDonough, MD kmcdonou@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Kathy Young, MD kecase2@alaska.edu 
Idaho Site Lead Dustin Worth, DO dworth@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Colette Kirchhoff, MD colettekirchhoff@yahoo.com
Seattle Site Lead Karen McDonough, MD kmcdonou@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Matt Hollon, MD
Janelle Clauser, MD
mfhollon@uw.edu
jclauser@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Yvette Haeberle,MD yhaeberl@uwyo.edu
Immersion Administrator Julie Calcavecchia, MEd jsmillan@uw.edu

Clinical Skills

Clinical Skills Directors Karen McDonough, MD kmcdonou@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Kathy Young, MD kecase2@alaska.edu
Idaho Site Lead Dustin Worth, MD worthdk@uw.edu
Montana Site Lead Colette Kirchhoff, MD colettekirchhoff@yahoo.com
Seattle Site Lead Karen McDonough, MD kmcdonou@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Laura Spence, MD
Clint Hauxwell, MD
lspence@uw.edu
chauxwel@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Yvette Haeberle, MD yhaeberl@uwyo.edu
Clinical Skills Administrator Julie Calcavecchia, MEd jsmillan@uw.edu

Primary Care Practicum

PCP Director Jeanne Cawse-Lucas, MD cawse@uw.edu
Alaska Site Lead Kathy Young, MD kecase2@alaska.edu
Idaho Site Lead Glenn Jefferson, MD glennj@uidaho.edu
Montana Site Lead Leslee Kane, MD lkane@bozemanhealth.org
Seattle Site Lead Jeanne Cawse-Lucas, MD cawse@uw.edu
Spokane Site Lead Darin Eckert, MD eckert94@uw.edu
Wyoming Site Lead Yvette Haeberle, MD yhaeberl@uwyo.edu
PCP Administrator Drue Johnson pcprac@uw.edu

The College Program

Staff Contacts

Associate Dean, The Colleges Mark Whipple, MD mwhipple@uw.edu
Director of Operations Julie Calcavecchia, MEd jsmillan@uw.edu
Alaska College Head Tanya Leinicke, MD tleinicke@gmail.com 
Idaho College Head Dustin Worth, MD worthdk@uw.edu
Montana College Head Zach Meyers, MD ZMeyers2@uw.edu
Seattle College Head Molly Jackson, MD
Alexandra Molnar, MD
blackley@uw.edu
amolnar@uw.edu
Spokane College Head Matt Hollon, MD
Janelle Clauser, MD
mfhollon@uw.edu
jclauser@uw.edu
Wyoming College Head Yvette Haeberle, MD
Julie Carlson, MD
yhaeberl@uwyo.edu
jcarlson@uwyo.edu

Student Affairs

Staff & Website Contacts

Associate Dean Student Affairs Raye Maestas, MD maestas@uw.edu
Assistant Dean for Student Development Maya Sardesai, MD, MEd sardesai@uw.edu
Assistant Dean for Student Support
Student Affairs
Gerald Tolbert, MD gtolbert@uw.edu
Proactive Advisor Brenda Martinez, MPH bnmb107@uw.edu
Director of the Learning Environment Melinda Frank mmfrank@uw.edu
Learning Environment Concern LINK HERE LINK HERE
Academic Support & Tutoring –> ALL SITES SITE LINK HERE SITE LINK HERE
Career Advising Shared email medadv@uw.edu