UWSOM Foundations Curriculum

Seattle

Facilities, technology, and equipment: What if…

You are locked out of your classroom

  • Weekdays (Custodial Services): (206) 685-1500
  • Weekends (UW Police): (206) 543-9331

You need emergency help

  • Police, fire, ambulance: 911 or (206) 543-9331

You are having technology problems in the classroom and no one is present to help

  • Audio-visual equipment problems (before 5:00 PM): (206) 543-6729
  • Contact Academic Learning Technologies, somalt@uw.edu or your Seattle Site Administrator

You require more equipment, whiteboard markers, etc.

  • Contact your Seattle Site Administrator

You need to reserve a room or computer lab space for exams or reassessments.

  • Contact your Seattle Site Administrator or Testing Services at (206) 616-9436

You think classes should be cancelled due to severe weather

  • There may be times when situations like inclement weather, power outages, earthquakes, etc., impact operations and/or students’ and faculty members’ ability to be present for scheduled coursework. In these types of situations, the University will determine whether it will officially close.
  • Classes or examinations at UW School of Medicine will be canceled only if the University has issued a decision to close via the local news media (KUOW 94.9 FM), the UW homepage, the UW Alert System, or its information hotline, 206-UWS-INFO (206-897-4636). This phone line maintains current messages as it is intended to inform the University community of the status of University operations given inclement weather or other adverse conditions.
  • Students and Seattle Site Leads will also be notified of University closures by the Block | FCM Administrator via email. The Block | FCM Administrator will also consult with the Seattle Site Lead and Associate Dean for Curriculum on rescheduling of required coursework and will email students. The Seattle Site Lead will notify faculty.

Seattle Curriculum Directory

Block 1: Molecular & Cellular Basis of Disease
Site Lead Brent Wisse bewisse@uw.edu 206 897-5282
Site Administrator James Stevenson jssteven@uw.edu 206-221-4441
Block 2: Invaders and Defenders
Site Lead Kristen Hayward
Meena Ramchandani
kristen.hayward@seattlechildrens.org
meenasr@uw.edu
Site Administrator Melissa Geffre geffrm@uw.edu 206-221-6567
Block 3: Circulatory Systems
Site Lead Andy Luks aluks@uw.edu 206-744-4161
Site Administrator Meredith Pothoven mgpotho@uw.edu 206-616-8867
Block 4: Blood, Cancer & Musculoskeletal
Site Lead Bill Harris (B&C)
Sioban Keel (B&C)
Hank Pelto (MSK)
Brian Krabak (MSK)
wph3@uw.edu 206-288-6856
sioban@uw.edu 206-685-2196
pelto@uw.edu 206-598-3294
bkrabak@uw.edu 206-520-5000
Site Administrator Melissa Geffre geffrm@uw.edu 206-221-6567
Block 5: Energetics & Homeostasis
Site Lead Bruce Silverstein (GI)
Tracy Tylee (Endo)
brucesil@uw.edu 206-915-5500
ttylee@uw.edu 206-598-4882
Site Administrator Melissa Geffre geffrm@uw.edu 206-221-6567
Block 6: Mind, Brain, & Behavior
Site Lead Leo Wang
Kurt Weaver
leowang@uw.edu 206-598-7688
weaverk@uw.edu 206-616-3882
Site Administrator Meredith Pothoven mgpotho@uw.edu 206-616-8867
Block 7: Lifecycle
Site Lead Robert Steiner
Alyssa Stephenson-Famy
steiner@uw.edu 206-543-8712
alyssabs@uw.edu 206-543-3423
Site Administrator TBD
Research Methods
Site Lead Bryan Kestenbaum
Matthew Thompson
brk@uw.edu 206-685-7343
mjt@uw.edu 206-616-8149
Site Administrator Karla Kelly karlak@uw.edu 206-543-0922
Consolidation & Transition
Site Lead Meghan Kiefer meghanm@uw.edu 206-314-4749
Site Administrator James Stevenson jssteven@uw.edu 206-221-4441
Colleges
Associate Dean Mark Whipple (Interim) mwhipple@uw.edu
College Heads, Cascade Molly Jackson blackley@uw.edu
College Heads, Olympic Alexandra Molnar amolnar@uw.edu
Administrator Julie Calcavecchia jsmillan@uw.edu 206-221-3532
Foundations of Clinical Medicine
(includes Immersion, Clinical Skills, and Primary Care Practicum)
FCM Directors Karen McDonough
Margaret Isaac
kmcdonou@uw.edu 206-685-1202
misaac@uw.edu 206-744-1838
 Immersion
FCM | Immersion Director Karen McDonough
Margaret Isaac
kmcdonou@uw.edu 206-685-1202
misaac@uw.edu 206-744-1838
Clinical Skills
FCM | Clinical Skills Directors Karen McDonough
Margaret Isaac
kmcdonou@uw.edu 206-685-1202
misaac@uw.edu 206-744-1838
FCM | Site Administrator Julie Calcavecchia jsmillan@uw.edu 206-221-3532
Primary Care Practicum
FCM | PCP Directors Jeanne Cawse-Lucas cawse@uw.edu 206-543-9425
FCM | Site Administrator Steven Bird pcprac@uw.edu
Ecology of Health & Medicine
Site Leads Amanda Kost
Susan Graham
Molly Jackson
Gina Campelia
Jamie Shandro
Heidi Combs
akost@uw.edu 206-543-9425
grahamsm@uw.edu 206-221-8435
blackley@uw.edu 206-680-0208
gdcamp@uw.edu 206-543-3267
jshandro@uw.edu 206-744-8348
hcombs@uw.edu 206-744-2945
Site Administrator Jaime Fitch jgrocock@uw.edu 206-685-7458
Threads
HFF Site Leads Cat Pittak
Kurt Weaver
catp@uw.edu
weaverk@uw.edu 206-616-3882
Pathology/Histology Site Leads Mara Rendi mararend@uw.edu 206-598-1393
Pharmacology Site Leads Edith Wang
Chris Hague
ehwang@uw.edu
chague@uw.edu
Site Coordinator James Stevenson jssteven@uw.edu 206-221-4441