UWSOM Foundations Curriculum

Spokane

Facilities, technology, and equipment: What if…

You are locked out of your classroom

  • Weekdays (GU Security): (509) 313-2222
  • Weekends (GU Security): (509) 313-2222

You need emergency help

  • Police, fire, ambulance: 911 and GU Security (509) 313-2222

You are having technology problems in the classroom and no one is present to help

  • Audio-visual equipment problems (before 5:00 PM): GU IT (509) 313-5561

You require more equipment, whiteboard markers, etc.

  • Contact your Site Administrative Team:
  • Carrie Walker (509) 313-7903
  • Debbie Greene (509) 313-7904

You need to reserve a room or computer lab space for exams or reassessments.

  • Contact your Site Administrative Team Member: Carrie Walker (509) 313-7903

You think classes should be cancelled due to severe weather:

  • There may be times when situations like inclement weather, power outages, earthquakes, etc., impact operations and/or students’ and faculty members’ ability to be present for scheduled coursework. In these types of situations, Gonzaga University will determine whether or not the Spokane Campus will officially close. In cases of Gonzaga University not being in session, WSU Riverpoint will be the determine closure status.
  • Classes or examinations at UW School of Medicine will be canceled only if Gonzaga University issued a decision to close via the local news media, the Gonzaga University homepage, the Zag Alert System, or its information hotline, 509-323-2474. This phone line maintains current messages as it is intended to inform the University community of the status of University operations given inclement weather or other adverse conditions.
  • Students and Site Leads will also be notified of University closures by the Block | FCM Administrator via email. The Block | FCM Administrator will also consult with the Site Lead and Associate Dean for Curriculum on rescheduling of required coursework and will email students. The Site Lead will notify faculty.

Spokane/ Spokane Curriculum Directory

Block 1: Molecular & Cellular Basis of Disease
Site Lead Tim Chestnut tcmd1955@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Site Administrator Carrie Walker carriew4@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Block 2: Invaders and Defenders
Site Lead Dave Freageau
Kristi Rice
davef509@uw.edu 
ricek4@uw.edu
Site Administrator Carrie Walker carriew4@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Block 3: Circulatory Systems
Site Lead Tim Chestnut tcmd1955@uw.edu
Site Administrator Carrie Walker carriew4@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Block 4: Blood & Cancer
Site Lead Robert Truckner (B&C)
Zach Gallaher (MSK)
rtt3@uw.edu 
zgalla@uw.edu
Site Administrator Carrie Walker carriew4@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Block 5: Energetics & Homeostasis
Site Lead Mike Stephens mjs57@uw.edu
Site Administrator Carrie Walker carriew4@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Block 6: Mind, Brain, & Behavior
Site Lead Paula Silha silhap@uw.edu
Site Administrator Carrie Walker carriew4@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Block 7: Lifecycle
Site Lead Molly Gilbert molly123@uw.edu
Site Administrator Carrie Walker carriew4@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Research Methods
Site Lead Bill Sayres
Allison Lambert
sayrew@uw.edu
aalamb@uw.edu
Site Administrator Carrie Walker carriew4@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Consolidation & Transition
Course Director Meghan Kiefer meghanm@uw.edu 206-314-4749
Course Administrator James Stevenson jssteven@uw.edu 206-221-4441
Colleges
College Head, Selkirk Matt Hollon mfhollon@uw.edu
College Head, Palouse Janelle Clauser jclauser@uw.edu
Site Administrator Erin Van Antwerp etwerp@uw.edu 509-313-7914
Foundations of Clinical Medicine
(includes Immersion, Clinical Skills, and Primary Care Practicum)
Immersion
FCM | Immersion Directors|
Site Leads
Matt Hollon
Janelle Clauser
mfhollon@uw.edu
jclauser@uw.edu
Clinical Skills
FCM | Clinical Skills Directors |
Site Leads
Laura Spence
Clint Hauxwell
lspence@uw.edu
chauxwel@uw.edu
FCM | Site Administrator Erin Van Antwerp etwerp@uw.edu 509-313-7914
Primary Care Practicum
FCM | PCP Director | Site Lead
FCM | Site Administrator
Darin Eckert

Erin Van Antwerp

eckert94@uw.edu

etwerp@uw.edu 509-313-7914

Ecology of Health & Medicine
Site Leads Bruce Abbotts babbotts@uw.edu
Site Administrator Carrie Walker carriew4@uw.edu 509-313-7903
Threads
HFF Site Lead Zach Gallaher zgalla@uw.edu 509-313-7928
Pathology/Histology Site Lead Bill Sayres sayrew@uw.edu
Pharmacology Site Lead Bruce Abbotts babbotts@uw.edu