Graduate Funding Information Service

April 2, 2020

Washington Library Association Scholarships

Application Deadline: May 6, 2020

These WLA (Washington Library Association) scholarships are memorial scholarships, created and funded by families and friends in memory of their loved ones to honor each person’s service to libraries. There are several awards the association offers. While some of them are specific to Library Science graduate students, others are open to students in the field of Education. The scholarships range from $500-$2000, though most are $1000.

Some Eligibility Criteria:

  • Applicants must be individual Washington Library Association members.
  • Maryan E. Reynolds Scholarship ONLY – applicant must be enrolled in an ALA-accredited master’s degree program and completed at least one semester or quarter.
  • Denny Bond Library Paraprofessional Scholarship and Sharon Bates Professional Growth Scholarship ONLY – applicants must be educators or library paraprofessionals working in Washington school libraries, or prospective librarians who intend to work in Washington school libraries.
  • The Hahn-Ahlers Continuing Education Scholarship and John Stanford Continuing Education Scholarship are open to the Library or Education fields.

For more information about the various scholarships the WLA offers and how to apply, click here.