Graduate Funding Information Service

June 15, 2020

Civil Society Scholars Award

Application Deadline: July 22, 2020

The Civil Society Scholar Awards support doctoral students and university faculty to undertake academic projects that will enrich socially-engaged research and critical scholarship in their home country or region. Civil Society Scholars are selected on the basis of their outstanding academic record as well as their active engagement with local communities, their potential to champion open society values in their home regions, and their ability strengthen critical scholarship and academic networks within their fields. Proposals may include international travel, but this is no longer required. The maximum funding request is $15,000 and eligible dates are March 1, 2021—December 31, 2021.

The Civil Society Scholars look to support academic research conducted within any field of the social sciences and humanities, but will prioritize research which specifically addresses pressing societal issues within the following themes, broadly defined:

  • defense against rising authoritarianism
  • sustainable development, climate action, and mitigating the effects of climate change
  • economic justice and worker rights
  • information democracy
  • addressing the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on an applicant’s home country or region


The awards are open to the following academic populations:

  • doctoral students of eligible fields studying at accredited universities inside or outside of their home country
  • full-time faculty members (must have a minimum of a master’s degree) teaching at universities in their home country

Candidates must be citizens of the following countries:

Afghanistan, Albania, Angola, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burundi, Cambodia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Republic of Congo, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Georgia, Haiti, Kosovo, Laos, Libya, North Macedonia, Moldova, Mongolia, Myanmar/Burma, Nepal, Palestine, Rwanda, Serbia, Sudan, South Sudan, Syria, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and Yemen.

For more information about this opportunity, including how to apply, click here.