Graduate Funding Information Service

September 4, 2020

K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award

Application Deadline: September 21, 2020

The K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award recognizes graduate students who show exemplary promise as future leaders of higher education and who are committed to academic innovation in the areas of equity, community engagement, and teaching and learning. Information about past recipients of the Cross Award is available here.

Recipients of the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award will receive financial support to attend the AAC&U Annual Meeting in January 2021. Award recipients are honored at this national conference and also participate in a panel discussion. All award recipients are required to attend. Recipients of the 2021 award will be announced in December 2020.


All doctoral-level graduate students who are planning a career in higher education are eligible, regardless of academic discipline. Graduate students in fields where the Master’s degree is the terminal degree, such as the MFA in art, are also eligible. Nominees must hold student status in January 2021.

Nominees must demonstrate:

  • Leadership ability or potential for exercising leadership in teaching and learning, with a strong commitment to academic innovation, community engagement, and equity; and
  • Leadership or mentorship in the development of others as leaders, scholars, and citizens.

For more information about this opportunity, including how to apply, click here.