Graduate Funding Information Service

October 5, 2021

Graham Foundation Carter Manny Doctoral Awards

Application Deadline: November 15, 2021

  • For PhD students
  • In architecture
  • Awards of up to $15,000 or $20,000 to support dissertation research or writing
  • Open to students of any nationality

The Carter Manny Award supports the completion of outstanding doctoral dissertations on architecture and its role in the arts, culture, and society. The only pre-doctoral award dedicated exclusively to architectural scholarship, the Carter Manny Award recognizes emerging scholars whose work promises to challenge and reshape contemporary discourse and impact the field at large. Eligible dissertation projects must focus on architecture, though scholarly investigations may be grounded in a range of academic disciplines and fields of inquiry that align with the mission of the Graham Foundation. These include: architectural history and theory; design; engineering; landscape architecture; urban planning; urban studies; the visual arts; and other related fields. (See the Overview of our grant programs). The award assists students enrolled in graduate programs in architecture, art history, the fine arts, humanities, and the social sciences working on architecture topics.

Each year the Graham Foundation offers two Carter Manny Awards: one Research Award for a student at the research stage of the doctoral dissertation and one Writing Award for a student at writing stage of the doctoral dissertation. The Research Award is acknowledged with up to $15,000 and the Writing Award is acknowledged with up to $20,000.

For more information on this opportunity, including how to apply, click here.