Congratulations to our 2014 graduates!

Congratulations to all our 2014 graduates!  We’re proud of this year’s UW Tacoma graduates who have majored in Politics, Philosophy & Economics or Law & Policy.

Politics, Philosophy & Economics graduates:
Jaime Ray Dalit Arreola, Imanjit Singh Bains, Miguel Angel Balderamma, David Allen Barnes, Nicholas Bradford, Brynn J. Brooks, Raymond Brooks, Jacob Alan Bush,
Fu-Yen Chan, N01_-_Mortar_Board142Annie Songyie Choi, April A. Coberly, Lauren Catherine Conley, Patrick Courtney, Brant Robert Delarme, Yahye Y. Dineh, Semone Dover, Kevin James Drugge, Nicolas J. Dunning, Alex-Jon Earl, Kaycie Elwess, Thomas Gregory Farrow, Erin Barbara Gaede, Uuriintuya Erika Ganjargal, Brandon Green, Cristina M. Hakansson, Shane Gregory Hall, Janessa India Harris, Thomas L. Harris,  Katrina Ann Honrade, Tzu Yang Hsu, James D. Jagger, Aaron Robert Jones,
Michael A. Jordan, Sheetal Kavita, Elliot J. Klavuhn, Aaron C. Knapp, James Koo,
Feipang Lam, Wei Li, Arely Lopez, Colin W. McCann, Jason Frederik McCausland,
Carley N. Metcalf, Jason M. Michaud, Dominique Andrew Miles, Chantell Munoz,
Megan Kimberly Nation, Martin Nderi, Jason Michael O’Neill, Madeleine Broxton Park,
Alycia Lorraine Patterson, Yessica M. Perez, Jeremy Scott Peterson, Stacilynn Mae Rambow, Julian Lavar Richards, Laura C. Richardson, Jeremy Bradon Rothschild,
Michelle Santos, Janaia Marie Seacrest-Holden, Arianna Elizabeth Shorey,
Ronald Smith, Liliya A. Stakhovich, Jesse Jameson Strege, Madhav Subedi,
Milena Summers, Tallman Harlow Trask IV, Thanhhong Thi Vu-Smith,
Perrin J. Walker, Nicole Nadean Wilcox, Tremicka Nicole Williams, Rees T. Yaden, and
Dennis E. Zuleta-Dupleich

Law & Policy graduates:
Mohamed Hassan Ahmed, Sharon-An B. Athey, Grady Heins, Jordan Emma Katherine Jones, Ramon Ralph Maddox, and Michael Wotherspoon

PPPA students graduate with honors

This year for the first time, one of our students are graduating with honors in PP&E. Kaycie Elwess (pictured below) is the first UW Tacoma student to graduate with this distinction.

In addition to PP&E honors, several PPPA graduates have also been awarded Baccalaureate or Faculty Honors. Baccalaureate honors include summa cum laude (the top 0.5% of the program), magna cum Kacie Elwesslaude (the next 3%), and cum laude (the next 6.5%); faculty honors are given to acknowledge students with a grade point average equivalent to baccalaureate honors, but who have not completed the minimum 90 UW credits.

Students graduating Magna Cum Laude include Kaycie Elwess, Thomas Gregory Farrow, Erin Barbara Gaede, Arianna Elizabeth Shorey, and Michael Wotherspoon (who also earned IAS honors)

Ryan Walter Begg, Jacob Alan Bush, James D. Jagger, Colin W. McCann (also, Global Honors), Laura C. Richardson, Tallman Harlow Trask IV (also  IAS honors) are graduating with the Cum Laude distinction.  Brandon Green earned faculty honors. 

Congratulations for work well done!

Spring seminar series on Middle East and Africa

In April PPPA hosted political analyst and essayist Mr. Faisal Roble (below center) of the Institute for Horn of Africa Studies and Affairs. His lecture, entitled “Post Civil War roble7Soma­lia:  Chal­lenges and Oppor­tu­ni­ties,” was well attended, and kicked off the first of several meetings and engagements he held with the UWT and Somali communities over a three-day period.  His visit was jointly sponsored by UW Tacoma Arts & Lectures Committee and the Somali Student Association at UW Tacoma.  As part of the same series, Dr. Nader Hashemi, Associate Professor Of Middle East and Islamic Studies and Director of the Center for Middle East Studies at the University of Denver’s Josef Korbel School of International Studies,  visited UWT in May to discuss current events in Iran and the Geneva Nuclear Deal.  His presentation can be accessed via this link: Dr. Nader Hashemi at UW Tacoma

Brittany Hale wins annual PPPA paper prize

Brittany Hale is the 2014 PPPA Paper Prize winner, an award won for her PP&E capstone paper on medical marijuana. Brittany wrote this paper while interning during the winter quartehale presentationr for the Washington State Legislature.  The annual award, given to the student with the best capstone paper for the year, was announced April 30th at the PPPA Internship/Paper Prize Event in William Philip Hall, and Brittany presented her paper during a lunchtime seminar May 15th in the Tacoma Room. Hale states, “My time in Olympia as a legislative intern piqued my interested in public policy.  All of the proposed legislation around medical marijuana in this last session provided an important focus for my research paper. I am honored and excited to receive recognition from UWT, and I’d like to thank Professor Baird for helping me focus my research and perfect my paper.”

Lester Burkes’ paper, “Venice Submerged,” on the topic of nuclear power, was named runner up for the prize.  Lester also wrote his paper while interning for the Washington State Legislature.  Congratulations to both!  You can read Brittany’s paper–and those of past PPPA prize winners–in UW Tacoma’s Digital Commons.